A Chorizo and Three Cheese Frittata- or a Fridge-tata

Cheese fridge raid

Cheese fridge raid for the Fridgetatta

Amazingly funny right?

Let me explain. Now, as much as I love food shopping, and I do, its winter. And sometimes when  one gets home, and is warm, and cannot fathom taking of ones huge jumper and bed socks to go up to the shops, one makes a fridge-tata. A frittata made out of all that I could find in my labyrinth of a fridge.

This is a cracker of a thing to do when you’re either time poor or motivation lacking, and I like to file this under Things I cook when I get home from work.

This actually turned out amazingly well! It was actually like I imagined a TV show would go-

Celebrity Chef: ‘Oh No! A camera crew from a show of some sort that wants me to make a meal out of what is in my fridge! How embarrassing that all I have is chorizo, kale and 4 kinds of cheese!?!’

Because that’s what I had. So yes, it could have been worse.

Cheese and Chorizo Frittata Cooking

Cheese and Chorizo Frittata Cooking

But, this really is just another situation where you don’t really need a recipe, it’s more of a ‘Here’s a blue print, make something rad out of what you have’! And, another reminder to always always have eggs.

I meant well with the kale… I bought it as it’s so good for you and just didn’t fit it in my repertoire.. But this recipe made great use of it, and you couldn’t tell it was slightly sad and wilted!

Here is the intense ingredient list that was, in the end, phenom.

Fridge-Tatta For 4

(Or two for dinner with my Zingy Salad and breakfast the next day)

1 chorizo, thinly sliced

2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 small red onion, finely chopped

1 small chili

1 over ripe tomato finely chopped

1 bunch kale, sliced thinly (baby spinach would be great too)

One almost sad bunch of kale

Around 12 olives, sliced in half

Cheese: whatever you have!

I had as per this image a random assortment of cheddar, brie, blue and pecorino..

4 eggs

¼ cup milk

Salt and pepper

  1. Pre heat oven to 200 degrees. Or you can use your grill; mine did not fit my fry pan…
  2. Fry chorizo in a medium/hot pan until crisp and caramelized. Take chorizo out of pan and place on paper towel. Do not drain fry pan! Use the delicious oil to cook the rest of your ingredients.
  3. Soften red onion, garlic and chili in the pan. Add chopped tomato, kale and olives and cook until kale has begun to wilt.
  4. Meanwhile, in a bowl mix eggs, milk salt and pepper and I added grated cheddar in here. It would be nice to add some parsley, basil or any herbs here.
  5. Add chorizo back into pan, warm and add egg mixture.
  6. Add other cheeses if adding!
  7. Cook for 3-4 minutes until bottom is cooked, and sides start to cook and come away.
  8. Place fry pan into oven and cook for around 7-8 minutes until egg is set all over, or cooked to your liking.

Zingy Salad

· Mixed leaves, such as rocket and spinach.

· Half a lemon, squeezed.

· Sliced Red Onion

· Salt

· Pepper

· Olive Oil

Slice red onion finely. In a bowl, mix together the sliced onion and about 2 teaspoons of salt. Squeeze the salt into the onion with your fingers, and leave sitting for about 5 minutes. This little trick takes the edge off the onion and slightly pickles them! YUM.

Then in the serving bowl, place the pickled onions, and the juice of the lemon and generous olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and then add your leaves. Mix about, taste and make as zingy as you like.

YUM

2 thoughts on “A Chorizo and Three Cheese Frittata- or a Fridge-tata

  1. We are big fans of the fridge-tata in our house – much better than ending up eating toast or cereal :) I love that you had 4 kinds of cheese in your fridge – that’s dedication!

Leave a Reply

