Mini Cook Book Review: An Ode to Women’s Weekly Modern Australian Food

I was trying to be good. I mean, I do have a lot of cookbooks, and I was so set on the notion of not buying any new ones for at least a few months..or weeks. But then this one came along.

I’m not sure if anyone is familiar with the idea, but we have in our office a company that brings us cookbooks, kid’s toys, and other really random items. They come every few weeks with new goods, leave one of each as a show piece for you to look and come back 2 weeks later to see if anyone wants to buy…

It’s horrific. The cookbooks sit there, week in week out, winking at me as if to say ‘Come on Jen, I’m a great deal. Just have a quick look.’ (Cos they are a great deal) and then inevitably I look, and look again… and then buy. It’s an addiction..

My most recent purchase from this sly company was the newly released Modern Australian Food made by the always amazing Women’s Weekly geniuses!

Modern Australian Food by the Australian Womens Weekly

Modern Australian Food by the Australian Womens Weekly

 

Look, I may be a little bit of a cookbook hore, but this is a great one. It is divided into sections outlining the differences in our countries food and cultures from country, to city, to coast. Gorgeous scenic photos and themed recipes for all the vastly different seasons we have here.

I purchased this a few days ago and have already made two recipes- this and wontons! Good odds me thinks!

My first recipe to try was Chorizo with Chickpeas and White Wine. In the section for ‘City’ this is named as a Small Bite, in terms of tapas and share plates.

I am a sucker for chorizo, the cured spanish sausage, with all its paprika-ey amazingness.

I Heart Chorizo

I Heart Chorizo

As always with Women’s Weekly books all the recipes look like sure things- never an issue, never complicated and always a success.

I changed it a tiny bit, and added some extra veggies, as I needed some more vegetables after a weekend of Pizza… Don’t judge.

Below is my version of the recipe, but full credit goes to the cookbook and I thoroughly recommend purchasing this one as, like all their others, this is a classic I hope to keep and pass on to my daughters as my mum introduced Women’s Weekly to me!

Chorizo and Chickpeas with White Wine

Chorizo and Chickpeas with White Wine bubbling away!

Chorizo and Chickpeas in White Wine

1 tablespoon Olive oil

1 small onion (I used red as I had an overload) finely sliced

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

2 cured chorizo sausages (340g) chopped coarsely

1 medium red capsicum sliced finely

400g can of chickpeas rinsed and drained

½ teaspoon smoked paprika

¼ cup dry white wine

½ cup chicken stock

My addition:

¼ tspn of dried chili

1 small eggplant

To Serve

Lightly cooked Green Beans tossed in olives oil, lemon juice and Lemon Zest

Tortilla Wraps

Sour Cream

**The wraps and sour cream where because as DELICOUS as it was, I used a new brand of dried bird’s eye chilies.. Let’s just say we needed to chill it down a bit! But this was like an amazing Spanish burrito. Well done me!

Spanish Burrito

I think I just invented a Spanish Burrito!

 

  1. Heat oil in frying pan and fry chorizo until golden and crispy. Take out of pan.
  2. Add a tiny bit more oil if needed, and fry onion and garlic until softened. Add chili. Add capsicum, eggplant, chickpeas and Paprika and cook until tender.
  3. Add wine and stock and cook stirring until liquid is reduced by half.
  4. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  5. In a frying pan add oil and toss beans over a high heat. Add lemon juice and lemon zest and cook until aldente.
  6. Serve with warmed tortilla wraps,  sour cream and beans!
A healthy, spicy, flavourful dinner!

A healthy, spicy, flavourful dinner!

Yum!

One thought on “Mini Cook Book Review: An Ode to Women’s Weekly Modern Australian Food

  1. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.erecipe.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to eRecipe will too.
    By joining eRecipe, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.erecipe.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

Leave a Reply

