Reminiscing on Christmas and A (little late) Christmas Canapé

So I know Christmas was a while ago, but I really wanted to share this canapé with you! Plus I am sad Christmas is over, and feel like reminiscing.. I didn’t blog much of my recipes over Christmas as I was well and truly on holidays not snapping much food and relaxing with my family.

It's the most wonderful tiiiiimeee of the year!

It’s the most wonderful tiiiiimeee of the year!

Christmas is the time of year I love, cooking cooking and more cooking. And the best part for me is being with my family, cooking for those I love and those I choose to spend the season with.

But it is a busy time, and it can stretch well into January especially in Australia where it’s summer and the time to entertain!

It’s easy to feel rushed and stressed when it comes to having visitors. But I feel like the most important thing is to look after yourselves AND your guests by making things that use delicious ingredients but not hours of prep. Otherwise people can sense your stress, and no one wants to feel like them coming over was a burden on you.

Its a delicious easy one, that is perfect for summer or winter, big groups or small. It’s so delicious I made it 3 times over the Christmas period, and no doubt will make it again at the drop of a hat! Its still party season so I feel like you should definitely crack this one out! Add a jug of Pimms and you are set!

So delicious, and with a reindeer platter. Win!

So delicious, and with a reindeer platter. Win!

 

The combination of horseradish, salmon, crème fraiche and dill is a fool proof one, but it can be changed to suit you or your guests tastes- I made these for my boyfriends family whose sister doesn’t like smoked salmon. I simply replaced the salmon with rare roast beef! Of course you can make the beef… I did NOT. I bought good quality thinly sliced roast beef from a deli and prepared it the exact same way. Now I think i will always do half/ half, its delicious.

I think cutting the bread is too cute, and I find a champagne glass is the best for it. You just want a little mouthful, and something that holds the toppings well. You can serve them warm in colder months, or as I do in summer just cool the toasts and they turn into little homemade Melba toast type chrisps. Plus I love tacky white bread for it, it holds its shape, chrisps up well and adds no overpowering flavour to the toppings. You can use whatever kind of bread you like, but this is my fave.

How to Make Canape Toasts

The recipe is SO flexible. It really depends on how many people you have, and it is so easy to make extra if your guests stay longer or are hungrier than you think!

YUMBO.

I wont be specific for this recipe as it depends on how many people, how strong you like your horseradish AND how big your champagne glass is! But to be helpful, I will say each slice of bread with my glass makes 3 rounds. I would allow 3 per person if having before a meal, perhaps 2 if you having a few different canapés as a cocktail party

Smoked Salmon and Horseradish Canape

My Fancy Smoked Salmon and Horsradish Canapes

1 champagne glass

1 loaf of plain white bread

1 tub crème fraiche

1 jar horseradish cream

300g smoked salmon (or roast beef)

Fresh Dill

Pre heat your oven to 180 or your grill to medium/high. Cut out the little toasts from the Bread and lay out on a baking tray. I don’t spray with oil, I prefer them when they are dry and crispy.

You will need to keep an eye on these! I have burnt a few.. 5-7 minutes or until they are as brown as you like and then flip over.

Meanwhile combine 3-4 tabllespoons of crème fraiche and 3 teaspoons of horseradish in a bowl. Taste- add more or less depending on your preference for horseradish! And create as much as you need!

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing on Christmas and A (little late) Christmas Canapé

Leave a Reply

